Shots and musings from San Diego based photographer, David Phillipich

About Damn Time…

People have been telling me for weeks, months even, that I can’t be a photographer without having and constantly updating a blog.  It doesn’t seem to matter that the only people who will read this with any sort of regularity are biologically related.   Because of this, a majority of my efforts will go towards responding to my mother’s questions.  “Thanks mom, I’m doing fine and I’m glad you like the picture.”  Must-read blogging!

Therefore, it shall be noted in this very first effort that I am doing this reluctantly and with little joy.

I’m Dave (or David, professionally), and I’m a photographer.  Currently, you can find me in Washington D.C. but I’m sure I’ll be a worldwide phenomenon soon.  I’ll be wrapping up a six month stint at the Center for Digital Imaging Arts in Georgetown a month from now, walking away with a Professional Certificate in photography which will edge my diploma from the University of Wisconsin-Madison as the most expensive piece of paper in my possession.  The ROI on this one has a very high ceiling so get a piece of this guy while you can still afford it.

Hopefully this will become a forum for me to vent; about the business, about the craft, about the clients, about the lifestyle (or lack-thereof) and anything and everything else.  So you can check back to read what I have to say, look at the pretty pictures or post some highly spirited trash-talk.

Our class just completed the Final Cut Pro modules and turned in a multimedia project based on a story we wanted to tell.  I chose to explore the on-goings at Ben’s Chili Bowl on DC’s historic U Street.  I’ll post the video at some point but until then, here’s a few tasty licks…

(click to enlarge)

One response

  1. Pretty soon this phenomenon of a photographer should meet with this Amazing model and change the advertising world as we know.
    😉
    Ur secret admirer!

    November 17, 2009 at 5:37 am

Thanks for viewing, comments go in this here box.

