Shots and musings from San Diego based photographer, David Phillipich

Pupsgiving

Being back home in Apple Valley (MN) means morning coffee with mom, home cooked meals and dogs.  Lots of dogs.  Hear a dog, hair from dog, everywhere these frickin’ dogs.  If I were to approximate, I’d say there’s about 300 pounds of dog at our house.  When I was growing up we had Sonny, the original gangster lab.  Sonny was our Marley; we were a “normal” family with three boys, one dog, and X cats (where X is a rotating number between 1-6).

With the worldly departure of the Son-dog and the geographic departure of my older brother and I, my parents decided to start collecting dogs.  Jackson, a fiery yellow lap-dog lab came first and was followed by Jameson, a lab of the White English variety.  He’s the most gentle and laid back lab ever and I imagine him sounding like a dopier version of the Geico Gecko.  Then they adopted Molly, a rescued “labradoodle.”  Other words that immediately discredit one’s masculinity: owie, tinkle and giggles.  Finally, my folks agreed to take in Sophie, an absolute angel of  a beagle.  Despite the hair and the noise and the slobber, these are the best dogs around.  Here’s a quick look, a.k.a. cute dog pictures.  (Forgot to add “cute” to the list.)

4 responses

  1. JG

    I know of all people I don’t ‘need’ to tell you I love the doggie pics, but OHEMGEE I LOVE the doggie pics!!! 🙂 Good work DP!

    November 30, 2009 at 3:13 am

  2. DMP

    Nice pics holmes! I like both beagle pics, and the one with the sun coming through the window. Well done.

    November 30, 2009 at 5:18 am

  3. Mom

    Well, I don’t know anything at all about this blog stuff or if this message will ever get to you, but oh Davey, I LOVE the pictures of our puppies! Sophie and Jamie look so sweet and Jackson waiting for food is so typical . . . but the one of my Molly is just beautiful and so peaceful. It choked me up thinking of how far she has come from that frightened, battered little dog to what she is now. You captured her perfectly. Thank you, Dear. xoxo

    November 30, 2009 at 6:20 am

  4. Jess

    LOVE the blog and pics Dave!!! And YES, you will be a phenom….very soon!!!

    December 2, 2009 at 12:19 pm

Thanks for viewing, comments go in this here box.

