Shots and musings from San Diego based photographer, David Phillipich

Shooting Ninjas

Last night I had the good fortune of rocking out (and shooting) some crazy funk-punk ninjas from NYC.  Mike (on lead guitar) and Dave (on drums) Machinist, brothers whom I met and befriended in Badger times, were making an appearance at the Asylum in Adam’s Morgan.  Joining them, the other 4 members of the head-banging hip-rock band, Shinobi Ninja.  If not for brilliant advances in architecture, they would’ve literally blown the roof off the joint.   Unfortunately (or fortunately) I only brought my 85mm lens.  Things were a little tight, but it reminded me of how badly I want to shoot more live music.  Now…if only I can upgrade to a Mark II and have the option of 1600 ISO without all the noise.

I love me some B&W with noise, but I had to get weird with some of these…after all, as New York’s Radio Exile put it, they’re a “walking, breathing and screaming Cartoon,” and everyone knows the best cartoons are in color.

3 responses

  1. KFinn

    nice, cool shots. still got the guitar pick…thank you Caroline. good times!

    January 24, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    • not going to lie, I think that first shot might be yours Finn!

      January 24, 2010 at 2:46 pm

  2. badguyhideout

    amazing!

    January 26, 2010 at 11:38 pm

Thanks for viewing, comments go in this here box.

