Shots and musings from San Diego based photographer, David Phillipich

DP in DC as TA

The day after my graduation from the photography program at CDIA I found myself in a familiar place in an unfamiliar position.   Chris Alvanas, Director of Photography at CDIA, had informed me a few days prior that I would be one of two Teacher’s Assistants for the new full-time photography class.  So here it was, 8:30 Monday morning and instead of sitting down to learn, I was standing up in front of 17 new photogs-in-training who expected me to teach.  I know…I felt kind of bad for them too.

I’ve really had a great time getting to know the new class.  They’re excited, motivated and most importantly, they appreciate a good “that’s what she said.”    What more can I ask for?

This week the “newbs” got some serious knowledge dropped on them by Michael Cunningham.  I’ve had the good fortune of receiving instruction and working with Michael several times over the past few months and I’m a better photographer and person because of it.  The incredible thing about this school is that I get to rub shoulders and grab coffee with smart, creative and successful people on a daily basis.  Photographer, Videographer, Graphic Designer…these are  people who have similar goals, similar passions and are generally pretty damn cool.

Understanding Light.  The Students got a crash course introduction to understanding and working with light this week and here are some shots I took of the process…

Thanks for viewing, comments go in this here box.

