Shots and musings from San Diego based photographer, David Phillipich

Takoma Park Jazz Festival

Spent this past Sunday in Takoma Park, MD, for their annual jazz fest.  With the humidity, the weather channel said it “felt like” 99 degrees; my pealing arms and neck would agree.  I have a seriously sexy farmer’s tan going on.

See?  Told ya so.

But it was worth it.  The food was great and the music was better.  I’m really starting to dig this little hipster village.   Takoma Park is about 15 minutes north of downtown DC; a small-town vibe complete with small-town pride.  It’s a very green community, overflowing with jazz-loving boomers who undoubtedly have a room in the basement devoted to supporting plant life.  Kind, social folk who welcome this stranger with a camera around his shoulder.

Here’s a quick video I put together for the Takoma Voice to use on their website.  I recommend clicking on the “HD off” part and following the link to watch it in HD at Vimeo, but I can’t make ya…this one gives you the general idea (I just don’t like the added pillar boxes on top and bottom).

….and don’t hate on my Final Cut abilities too hard, I had to get it together quick.

Thanks for viewing, comments go in this here box.

