Shots and musings from San Diego based photographer, David Phillipich

Genevieve Grace Phillipich

Early in the morning on October 11th my older brother Adam and his beautiful wife, Stacy, had their first child.  We were all kind of pulling for a 10/10/10 birth date, but I’m glad she waited

“Genevieve” was my grandmother’s name, so when Adam introduced her to the family in the emergency room it gave tear-filled eyes another reason to overflow.  I had to ask him where “Grace” came from.  “…it was a faith-related choice with some practical and family-related influence as well.  And scene.”

I didn’t think it’d be as hard as it was to be halfway across the country when little Gen was born.  I was a giggling, blubbering mess when my little brother sent me the camera-phone picture of Baby G in Mama P’s arms.  It got worse when I walked into Adam and Stacy’s house in Bloomington Thursday afternoon, having just completed the 18 hour drive.  It wasn’t so much to surprise them; my family all but assumed I’d show up at some point, but I just couldn’t handle waiting until Thanksgiving to meet my little niece.  She was worth the drive.  As you’ll see, pretty much the cutest lil’ infant that’s ever been born.  And I’ll always be thankful to her for arriving when she did, allowing me to spend Saturday night in Madison (and watch our Badger squad dominate #1 OSU) before finishing the drive back on Sunday.

Writing too much.  We have baby pictures to get to!  Several thousand shots of GGP to follow in the next twenty-plus years…


10 responses

  1. Jenniffer

    She is so precious!

    October 18, 2010 at 6:42 pm

  2. congrats uncle dave! she is super cute. love the one where she’s puckering up for the camera! : )

    October 18, 2010 at 7:35 pm

  3. jacy

    augh. you certainly know how to evoke a tear and and a bunch of laughs. she is adorable and these photos are amazing. congrats, dp!

    October 18, 2010 at 8:38 pm

  4. Amy

    Good job David. Grandpa and Grandma would be proud you are really talented! Hopefully get to see you all soon.

    October 18, 2010 at 9:12 pm

  5. Mom

    Thanks so much for making that long drive and giving us these beautiful pictures of our little Gen. They are incredible! Loved having you home, as always. Xo, Mom

    October 18, 2010 at 10:27 pm

  6. Karen

    How precious! What amazing shots – they tell the joy filled story. Congrats to all of you and thanks for sharing.

    October 18, 2010 at 10:47 pm

  7. Sherry

    What wonderful pictures, Dave!!! i could never choose the best one…they are all so precious. I know it was a long drive , but it was so wonderful that you made it and were able to be with the family and takes all these beautiful photos. I wish we could have seen you, but I am sure your Mom shared with you that Beth was home celebrating her birthday so we were on the move here at the Elder camp, too. We look forward to the holidays. love you, “Aunt Sherry”

    October 20, 2010 at 8:21 pm

  8. Seriously, Cap’n! Cutest little girl I’ve ever seen!!

    October 23, 2010 at 10:36 pm

  9. Vonnie Sandman

    Hi Mr. Photographer! You do not know me, but your mom “clued” me into your blogs and I checked out the “beautiful baby” one right away. She appears much older than she was at the time! I have a grandniece born in Burnsville on Sept. 22 and have only seen pix…she has the name Ruby June. They are so very precious!

    My husband, Ralph was a cousin to Kath Sherry and Mabel’s “girls”.

    Vonnie Sandman

    October 31, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by, glad you like the photos!

      November 3, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Thanks for viewing, comments go in this here box.

