Shots and musings from San Diego based photographer, David Phillipich

Venice

Simply stated, there is no other place in the world like Venice.  We only spent a day in the “City of Water” but Venice and the weather made it count.  This city is so photogenic, it knows it.  The entire afternoon, I could almost hear whispers coming from the shadows, “psst…now look over there and wait for the light to move,” only the whispers were in Italian so for all I know they were saying, “pssst…aren’t you surprised by all the hot dogs here?  Me too!”

My favorite shot in this post is the affectionately titled, “Gondola Guy in Hallway Place” which you’ll see toward the end, and it’s my favorite because when I walked by that archway I could feel the city grin back at me, like it knew all along that I’d eventually find it.  I was only there shooting for about 10 minutes when Gondola Guy walked out, turned around and walked back in.  Gotcha.

A chronological glimpse at one day in Venice…

Thanks for viewing, comments go in this here box.

