Shots and musings from San Diego based photographer, David Phillipich

Bob.

Yesterday was Father’s Day, a day when sons and daughters take their dads to the ball game, have a nice cookout in the backyard and give cards and gifts expressing their appreciation for all that dad’s do.  I couldn’t be with my dad this father’s day weekend, but I want him to know that I, too, appreciate all he’s done and continues to do for me, the strange middle son.

It’s not easy to describe my dad, which I think is a great quality in and of itself.  He’s quiet, witty, generally impatient, annoyingly intelligent and incredibly kind.  He gives and gives and takes nothing in return.  He answers the puzzles on “Wheel of Fortune” way too early.  He stuffs his pockets full of dog treats so that all the puppy friends along Gardenview Drive can enjoy a treat with our dogs.  While driving to church, he’ll curse under his breath at the woman who’s driving too slow.  He sacrifices his time, his health and his sanity on a daily basis, continuing to put off retirement so that his family can travel to places like Italy.  He leaves notes on the kitchen counter every morning, letting my mom know which dogs pooped and that he loves her.

Like most times in my life, I’m a day late (and always a dollar short).  But I wanted to share some photos of my mom and dad and my brother John and his girlfriend, Jess, from our trip for this Father’s Day because I know that buildings and light and shadows and Gondola Guys are cool and serve as great reminders of things seen during a trip, but what’s really important is who you saw it with.  I’m so lucky to be a part of my family and so thankful for their support.  Love you, Dad.


2 responses

  1. Just took your Italy ride, Dave. Really phenomenal seeing. Beautiful. Love your work!

    June 28, 2011 at 1:11 am

    • Thanks Kristin, looking forward to seeing your work at the salon!

      June 28, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Thanks for viewing, comments go in this here box.

